top of page

5 Things That Happened When I Quit Social Media for 1 Month.

As a child, I swam competitively from age 5 clear up through high school.  When it came to racing, all my coaches would tell me to just swim my event and nevermind who was next to me swimming theirs.  Now, as an adult whose life has progressed differently than some of my friend's lives, I have to constantly remind myself of that coaching.  These days with everybody living on Instagram and Facebook, "Just live your life,"  is sometimes a hard thing to be happy with because we end up comparing our rough days to everybody's great days.  

So, about a month ago, after scrolling through Instagram and feeling sad about my own life in comparison to that of my friend's, I decided to take a break from Social Media.  I removed their icons from the homepage of my phone and turned off all notifications.  

Here is what happened:

1) I became productive.

Of course, if you are like me, then a lot of your free time and battery life is eaten away scrolling through the top 4 social medias.  I'm sure everybody's top 4 is different but mine are: Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.  Without the notifications constantly pulling me back to my phone, I have finally been able to spring clean my home, spruce up our budget, make weekly meal plans, and give the cat a bath.  Hurray for everyone, except maybe the cat.  

2) I found Contentment

Without the daily reminders of how different my life, home, and body is now, in comparison with those I follow on social media I am better able to appreciate what I do have and what I can do right now in this moment.  The fact is that I have everything I need to do what I need to do to take care of my family in the way they need me to.  Yes, I am still itchy to move with my family onward and forward, but it is an itch much less desperate now a days.  I have learned to be content with this season of my life; time is short and while I have been busy looking around at others, my own performance has slowed and those around me have been the ones suffering.  

3) I learned who my real friends are.

Social media does have the benefit of being a central communication hub that aids in the connection of people who would not typically connect.  Without that ease of communication, those who wished to connect with me were forced to contact me directly.   Because of this, I had the opportunity to connect with a few wonderful women over the past few weeks that, had they not contacted me directly, I would have missed out.  

4) I increased Creativity

Part of the reason my blog has slowed down tremendously was because I simply couldn't think of anything to write about.  I thought that looking at social media would spark some inspiration or hint at some ideas.  It did not.  And, when I did come across something that seemed interesting or fun to do it seemed forced and fake and generally blah.  Now, as I live through life, I come across ideas that I am truly able to speak to and I am looking forward to writing and sharing those ideas and topics with my few readers.  

5) I am now a more Patient and Present parent. 

We all try out very best to be there for our kids.  I found that while I was scrolling several times daily the pressure grew to take pictures and videos of my kids for the sole purpose of posting them online.  Disclaimer: I know that many people use social media like Facebook and Instagram to share with relatives who live far away and I respect and see the value in that.  I myself will most likely return to social medias to post updates and pictures of my ever changing toddler and upcoming tween so their grandparents can see them.  But my days were being eaten away by the "framing" of my children in pictures and short videos for, yes family and close friends, but otherwise, for people whose thoughts or opinions should not matter to me.  Because I am a highly competitive person, I found myself comparing my own sweet toddler to my friend's sweet toddlers and feeling less than when somebody else's toddler mastered something before mine did .  And I would stress about it.  And worry about it.  And scroll some more to try to find something their toddler hasn't done yet that mine has...... 

And I was missing out on simply watching and enjoying my child grow up. 

I am sure I am not alone in this cycle.  Can any of you relate?  If you can, my friends, we have to to stop that crap.   

Now in the morning when I usually plop my kid on the couch or a show with her breakfast, when I used to use that time to "scroll" through all the stuff I missed overnight, I sit on the couch with my breakfast and watch cartoons with my little one.  I laugh when she laughs and welcome her happily when she crawls into my lap for snuggles.  Moments I had been missing or half assing because one hand was always occupied by the cell phone.  

There is a time and place for social media.  Hey we all need something to scroll through when we are sitting on the toilet.  A month ago I chose to break from it entirely. Now, I choose to keep it on the back burner, to keep my head straight and swim my own race.  To value real people more than profile names and to live in the moment in person and not behind a screen.  

Social media is easy to become addicted to.   Do you find yourself scrolling more that once a day? For more than 1 hour at a time?   

I challenge you: go media free for 7 days.  Let me know what happened to you and your family.  

It may be hard but I promise it will be worth it.  

If you haven't subscribed yet and you have read more that 3 of my posts, quit being a stalker and subscribe already.  

Also don't forget to like this post and always remember that sharing is caring.  


Meet the Beast Parents
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page