top of page

What's in My Diaper Bag: A Minimalist's Approach

There are so many posts about how to pack the perfect diaper bag.  So many mothers out there are lugging around practically their entire nurseries and while I took their advise for a while, but I found that all that extra stuff just took up space and never got used.  

I started paring down the items that I lugged around and it turned into a challenge.  

Now as my baby grows, I challenge myself to make her diaper bag smaller and smaller.  

Here is what I kept in my minimalist diaper bag:  

- 1 diaper

- travel pack of about 20 wipes

-a grocery bag (just in case of a crazy poop)

-one outfit (season appropriate)

-a zip lock sandwich  bag full of cheerios

- a few toys

I have always liked to carry a big purse even though I carry very few things.  So when we would go out with baby I just threw these things in my purse.  

Nowadays my baby is 19 months old and potty trained.  Her "diaper bag" looks a little different now.  

Here is what is in my "diaper free" diaper bag:

-1 pair of baby pants

- that same travel pack of wipes

- zip lock sandwich bag full of cheerios or sliced apples (my baby is quite the little fruit bat)

-Travel cup with straw (she only has one cup and I usually just grab it at the last minute) 

These are the items that I try to keep in her bag for when she is home with her dad while I am at work.  This way dad can jusy grab her and the bag and go if he wants to.  

I however like to push the limit.  When she is with me I just toss a pair of her pants in my purse and hope for the best.  

Of course, I only have one baby who needs things.  I am sure with each additional child the number of items will increase.  

What do you moms out there have in your bags? How many kids do you have?  

Also, I am thinking of getting a small kids bag for my little one and teaching her to carry it herself.  Thoughts? 

Don't forget to like, share, and click here to subscribe.    


Meet the Beast Parents
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page