top of page

5 Beauty Tips for the Garbage Mom


Just because we are garbage doesn't mean that we don't have some standards.  Sometimes...  We all know and most of us have had experiences where the better looking individual gets the better deal or service.  Don't even try to pretend like that doesn't happen, because it does.  Not only  have I been treated better on days when I look more put together but also I have been more inclined to treat others better when they are good looking.  

When it comes to beauty routines, I am all over the board.  Usually it looks something like throwing my makeup bag into my purse on the way out the door and hoping for enough red lights to allow me to do at least enough to look alive and awake.  This is something I have decided to work on.  Especially since the time that most women start lying about their age is fast approaching for me.  In all truthfullness, come this summer, I will be entering the third decade of my life.  The time for crows feet and grey hairs to make their debut.  Therefore, it is time to put the breaks on aging and bring on all the miracle creams.  

Oh wait just kidding, my garbage self is not gonna do all that.  But I will at least start removing my makeup before bed each night.  As much as I enjoy sporting Saturday night's leftover makeup on Sunday morning, I think it's time to change.  

Without having to take too much time away from Pinterest or sleep here are 5 easy beauty tips for the aging garbage mom:

Tip number 1: Signature Jewelry 

Nothing says "effort made" like jewelry.  While many women turn to jewelry as an after thought or just for special occasions, I start with it.  My signature jewelry happens to be the same two pairs of hoop earrings that I have been wearing every day for the past 5 years.  True fact, this is often then only effort I make on a daily basis.  I even wore them when I gave birth to my Ursa.   Find yourself a signature piece whether it is earrings, a necklace,  or some bracelets that you feel comfortable wearing with yoga pants and a stained shirt as well as your church dress.  Put them on while brushing your teeth in the morning.  People will think you made extra effort.  

Tip Number 2: Coconut Oil 

I know what you're thinking so don't click away just yet.  Don't worry this is not going to turn into the 50 miracle uses for coconut oil, I promise.  I use it for a few things that I will share with you.    

1) Mixed with baking soda as a toothpaste and facial scrub.  

2) Straight from the tub as a makeup remover, skin moisturizer, and hair deep conditioner.  

3) Mixed with my foundation for a smoother application and a dewy finish.

Get yourself a small jar of coconut oil to keep in your bathroom.  It will save you some money and I think you will be pleased with the results.    

Tip Number 3: Hydrate and Vitaminate 

Skin and hair always look better when they are hydrated and given the nutrients they need.  One of my few healthy habits includes drinking at least 32 ounces of warm water first thing in the morning and taking a multivitamin at night.  Of course, being the garbage that I am, I forget one or both of these things regularly and I can tell the difference between doing them and not doing them.  

Start your day by drinking as much as you can tolerate in the morning.  Your skin and hair will thank you.  Don't drink your water as an after thought before you go to bed or you will be up peeing all night long.  

Tip Number 4: Sweat

We need to sweat every day.  Sweat is the natural release of all of your body and skin's impurities.  Exercise, sweats most popular vehicle (because moms don't have the time to sit in a sauna and do nothing for 20 minutes every day), also comes with its own beauty and health benefits.  Move your body and break a sweat every day as motivation to get you into the shower as well as change your garbage clothes.  Your body and skin will thank you for it.  

Tip Number 5: The Mom Bun

Many moms opt to chop off their hair and go for the "short mom hair" when they are expecting their babies.  I say NAY!  You are about to have a baby! You are going to have enough change happen in your life.  Don't add getting used to a new hairstyle into the mix.  Keep your long hair.  Perfect your mom bun.  I can do my mom bun in less than 30 seconds whether I have a hair tie, a scrunchy, a clip, a pencil, or nothing.  The shorter your hair is the harder it will be to get it all up and out of the way for that poopy blowout, or bathtime.  Plus, the more long hair you have, the more time you can get away with in between shampoos.  Trust me, forget about the mom chop and embrace the mom bun.  

These things will help you look your best even when you and your garbage self haven't had a chance to shower or even run a brush through your hair.   


Meet the Beast Parents
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page